Books Just Ordered

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Based on a communist fairy tale

Once upon a time in the USSR, the people were promised prosperity greater than that of the U.S. We know that this story does not have a happy ending, but Red Plenty by Francis Spufford has a fascinating premise. Booklist says, "If you think that a novel about the planned economy of the USSR from the 1950s through the 1970s would be boring, think again." Bureaucrats, economists, and scientists, both real and fictional, combine to show the tragic, yet sometimes hilarious, history of a "utopian" experiment that failed miserably.

There's a new medical novel written by CNN's Dr. Sanjay Gupta called Monday Mornings. (Doesn't he have enough to do?) Good reviews so far, it sounds like it will appeal to fans of ER and Gray's Anatomy.

The Reeducation of Cherry Truong by Aimee Phan tells the story of the relationships between a multi-generational family of Vietnamese immigrants. Booklist says "Touching on the events of the Vietnam War, cultural assimilation, reconciliation, forgiveness, and redemption, Phan crafts an epic tale. Through Cherry's eyes, the complex country of Vietnam is lovingly explored in immense, realistic detail."   

Find more up and coming books below!   
Anshaw, Carol. Carry the One. Simon & Schuster. 3/6/2012.

Ashworth, Jenn. Cold Light. HarperCollins. 10/16/2012.

Bell, Ted. Phantom: An Alex Hawke Novel. William Morrow & Company. 3/20/2012.

Chaon, Dan. Stay Awake. Ballantine Books. 2/7/2012. short stories

Chung, Catherine. Forgotten Country. Riverhead Books. 3/1/2012.

Cramer, Dale. The Captive Heart. Bethany House Publishers. 1/1/2012.

Desanti, Carole. The Unruly Passions of Eugenie R. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (HMH). 3/27/2012.

Donatich, John. The Variations. Henry Holt & Company. 2/28/2012.

Dryden, Alex. The Blind Spy. Ecco Press. 3/20/2012.

Edwardson, Ake. Sail of Stone. Simon & Schuster. 3/13/2012.

Gebbie, Vanessa. The Coward's Tale. Bloomsbury Publishing PLC. 2/28/2012.

Gray, Shelley Shepard. Missing: The Secrets of Crittenden County, Book One. Avon Inspire. 3/20/2012.

Green, Jane. Another Piece of My Heart. St. Martin's Press. 3/13/2012.

Gupta, Sanjay. Monday Mornings. Grand Central Publishing. 3/13/2012.

Hall, Parnell. $10,000 in Small, Unmarked Puzzles. Minotaur Books. 1/31/2012. Mystery

Harrison, Kim. A Perfect Blood. Harper Voyager. 2/21/2012.

Kazinski, A. J.  The Last Good Man. Scribner Book Company. 3/6/2012.

Lansdale, Joe R. Edge of Dark Water. Mulholland Books. 3/25/2012.

Lewis, Beverly. The Fiddler. Bethany House Publishers. 4/10/2012.

Long, Kelly. An Amish Wedding. Thomas Nelson Publishers. 11/29/2011.

Perry, Thomas. Poison Flower: A Jane Whitefield Novel. Mysterious Press. 3/6/2012.

Peters, Ralph. Cain at Gettysburg. Forge. 2/28/2012.

Phan, Aimee. The Reeducation of Cherry Truong. St. Martin's Press. 3/13/2012.

Polites, Taylor M.  The Rebel Wife. Simon & Schuster. 2/7/2012.

Rice, Patricia. The Lure of Song and Magic. Sourcebooks Casablanca. 1/1/2012. Romance

Rogers, Morgan Callan. . Viking Books. 1/19/2012.

Rose, M. J. The Book of Lost Fragrances: A Novel of Suspense. Atria Books. 3/13/2012.

Rosenfelt, David. Heart of a Killer. Minotaur Books. 2/14/2012.

Schulman, Audrey. Three Weeks in December. Europa Editions. 1/31/2012.

Spufford, Francis. Red Plenty. Graywolf Press. 2/14/2012.

Steinhauer, Olen. An American Spy. Minotaur Books. 3/13/2012.

Thompson, James. Helsinki White. Putnam Adult. 3/15/2012.

Tuccelli, Jessica Maria. Glow. Viking Books. 3/15/2012.

Ward, Katie. Girl Reading. Scribner Book Company. 2/7/2012.

White, Kate. So Pretty It Hurts: A Bailey Weggins Mystery. Harper. 3/20/2012.

White, Randy Wayne. Chasing Midnight. Putnam Adult. 3/6/2012.

Wilson, Susan. The Dog Who Danced. St. Martin's Press. 3/13/2012.

Winspear, Jacqueline. Elegy for Eddie: A Maisie Dobbs Novel. Harper. 3/27/2012. Mystery

No comments:

Post a Comment